交流

  • Posted on: 9 January 2016
  • By: hkba_admin

一国两制

回归后的香港,实行「一国两制」-法律制度仍然维持不变,香港的法院秉承深厚的英国普通法传统,声誉卓越,坚守法治,司法制度依然独立运作。法治和司法独立是香港的核心价值,是香港赖以成功的基石,我们亦引以为豪。

香港既是中国的一部份,又是一个国际都会。中国和香港,语言共通,在「两制」下拥有与内地有别的普通法制度。在「一国」里,我们需要多了解祖国,特别是其历史、文化、最近的发展和变迁。另一方面,我们亦乐于向内地解释香港的法治和司法制度,加深两地的认识,相互交流和学习。

公会辖下的「大中华事务委员会」,成立于2000年,专门负责向中、台、澳三地推广香港大律师专业,与有关法律的专业机构及司法官员交流,维持和促进与区内同业的友好关系。

为配合国家「一带一路」,公会于2015年7月成立「中国业务发展委员会」,向内地企业推广香港大律师能为他们提供的高端法律服务,协助内地「走出去」,与世界接轨。

 

司法交流

每年,公会接待了数以百计的内地官员,其中包括不少来自司法部和负责检控的官员。 《基本法》清楚地界定了行政、立法及司法的关系和权责,三权分立。公会与内地官员就两地法律制度作出比较和交流,增进相互的了解。此外,公会定期前往北京作官式访问,与内地官员交流中港两地所关注的事项。推动两地法治进程。

同业交流

公会不时到访内地的律师协会,为内地同业举办模拟法庭、讲座及研讨会。公会借着交流,向内地律师协会分享香港法律业界自我监管之经验、大律师行为守则和处理纪律处分方面的程序,展示大律师专业为大中华区内法律业界之楷模,精益求精,宣扬法治精神。

与此同时,公会亦与多个省市的律师协会签定合作协议,进一步落实与内地同业在执业上之合作和业务交流。

学术交流

近年国内的大学及地方的司法部门纷纷成立律师学院, 提供律师职业训练,其中包括讼辩技巧、操守、执业实务及律所管理,大律师亦获邀前往内地讲学。由律师学院的设立可印证中国的律师日趋专业化。

在过去八年,我们为北京大学法学院本科和研究院同学举办普通法课程,并提供奖学金予成绩优异的同学,让他们前来香港,到大律师事务所观察大律师的日常工作,体验普通法在香港的施行。协助中国法律学生了解外国的普通法制度,使中国更容易与外国接轨,更快追上世界先进国家水准。

法治与经济发展

随着中国倡议「一带一路」,中国企业要与「世界接轨」和「走出去」是大势所趋。

完善和稳固的司法制度令商人有法可依,在法律的规限下拓展业务。国内企业在「走出去」的同时往往面对复杂和陌生的经营环境,必须了解商业法、合约法和国际的商业惯例。法律清楚列明合约所必须具备的条件,各方根据合约条款覆行责任,香港可作为一个平台让立约各方处理商业纠纷,令人对订立合约和遵从协定更有信心。在经贸发展的同时,国内企业对高端的国际法律服务如国际仲裁及调解的需求,势必增加。在遇到涉外商业纠纷时,香港的大律师可提供专业的法律服务。

香港凭着「一国」和「两制」的优势,有完善的法制和法律专业人才,加上地理位置便捷,是理想的中立仲裁地点。因此,大律师公会于2015年7月成立「中国业务发展委员会」,专责推广香港大律师为国内企业提供的高端法律服务。

我们在这网站提供了一些通往内地其他有关法律的政府部门和团体的连结,以供参考。

Exchanges

  • Posted on: 9 January 2016
  • By: hkba_admin

One Country Two Systems

After the handover, the principle of “One Country, Two Systems” has been implemented in Hong Kong, under which Hong Kong’s legal system remains intact.  The Courts of Hong Kong are celebrated for maintaining a strong English common law tradition, adhering to the rule of law.  The judicial system continues to operate independently.  The rule of law and judicial independence are the core values of Hong Kong and the cornerstone of Hong Kong's success, of which we are proud.

Hong Kong is a part of China and a cosmopolitan city.  Mainland China and Hong Kong share a common language.  Under the “Two Systems” principle, Hong Kong enjoys a common law system that is different from the legal system in the Mainland.  Under the “One Country” principle, we need to know more about our native land, especially its history, culture, recent development and changes.  On the other hand, we are also happy to explain Hong Kong’s rule of law and judicial system to the Mainland, to deepen understanding between the two, and to encourage cross-fertilisation and mutual learning.

The Standing Committee on Greater China Affairs under the Hong Kong Bar Association was established in 2000 and is responsible for promoting the Hong Kong Bar to Mainland China, Taiwan, and Macao, communicating with law-related professional institutions and judicial officials, and maintaining and promoting friendly relations with the profession in the region.

Judicial Exchanges

Each year, the Hong Kong Bar Association receives hundreds of Mainland officials, including many officials from the Ministry of Justice and prosecuting officials.  The Basic Law has clearly defined the relationship between the Executive, the Legislature and the Judiciary, as well as their relationship inter se; there is therefore clear separation of powers.  The Hong Kong Bar Association and the Mainland officials would compare and exchange views on the two legal systems, enhancing mutual understanding. 

In addition, the Hong Kong Bar Association makes regular official visits to Beijing to exchange views with Mainland officials on matters that concern both Mainland China and Hong Kong.  These exchanges have facilitated the development of the rule of law in the two places.

Professional Exchanges

The Hong Kong Bar Association visits  lawyers' associations in Mainland China from time to time to organise moot courts, lectures and seminars for the legal professionals in the Mainland.  Through these exchanges, the Hong Kong Bar Association shares its experience in self-disciplining, Code of Conduct, and procedure for disciplinary penalty with our counterparts in the Mainland .  It demonstrates the Bar's constant striving for perfection and promoting the spirit of the rule of law as a model for the legal industry in the Greater China.

The Hong Kong Bar Association has also entered into cooperative agreements with the lawyers’ associations in a number of provinces and cities, further facilitating the cooperation and business interaction with the Mainland legal profession.

Academic Exchanges

In recent years, we have seen a growing number of lawyers' schools  established by universities and provincial justice bureaus in the Mainland providing vocational training in advocacy, ethics, practice and law firm management for lawyers.  Members of the Hong Kong Bar are invited to teach in the Mainland.  The establishment of lawyers' schools evidences the professionalisation of Mainland China's legal industry.

In the past seven years, we have launched a "Common Law course" for undergraduate and postgraduate students at Peking University.  The Hong Kong Bar Association has offered scholarships to outstanding students who have taken the course.  The awardees were invited to come to Hong Kong to observe the daily work of barristers and to experience the operation of common law in Hong Kong.  The purpose is to enhance Mainland law students’ understanding of the common law system in foreign jurisdictions and thereby facilitating Mainland China’s integration with overseas countries and enabling the Mainland to catch up with well-developed countries. 

Rule of Law and Economic Development

Following China's “One Belt, One Road” initiative, it will become a norm and an inevitable trend for Chinese enterprises to “go global” and "connect with the rest of the world".

A sound and stable judicial system is conducive to business development.   The “going global” process often entails facing complex and unfamiliar business environment.  It is essential that Chinese Enterprises should understand commercial law, contract law and international trade customs.   With the benefit of having a system of law under which the requisite elements of a valid and enforceable contract are clearly stated so that the parties could perform their obligations in accordance with the terms of the contract, Hong Kong is well poised to serve as a platform for parties to resolve commercial disputes.  This will greatly increase the parties' confidence in entering into agreements and complying with contractual terms.

The economic and trade development in the Mainland will add further impetus to the need for Chinese enterprises to have access to high-quality international legal services, especially services in relation to international arbitration and mediation.  The Hong Kong Bar can provide professional legal services in commercial disputes involving foreign elements.

Hong Kong enjoys a unique competitive edge under the principle of “One Country, Two Systems”.  Further, Hong Kong has a sound legal system and a large pool of legal professional talents.  These advantages, coupled with the fact that Hong Kong is geographically convenient, make Hong Kong a neutral and ideal forum for arbitration.

In light of the above, the Hong Kong Bar Association established the Standing Committee on China Practice Development in July 2015.  The Special Committee aims at promoting the provision of high-quality legal services by Hong Kong barristers to Chinese enterprises. 

For your ease of reference, we have provided in this website the links to the websites of some relevant governmental departments and bodies in Mainland China.